SKS Logo

The Story Behind Storm King’s Alumni Awards


The Storm King School is getting ready to celebrate its historic Sesquicentennial at Reunion 2018 which takes place in less than two weeks. A highlight of the event will be the 2018 Alumni Awards to be handed out on Saturday, June 9. Storm King’s Alumni Awards, including the Margaret Clark Faculty Excellence Award, the SKS Sports Hall of Fame (SHOF) inductions, and the Founder’s Cup, are important Storm King traditions which are carried out each year during reunion weekend. The awards serve to generate a lot of interest within the Storm King community, especially among our alumni, and each one has its own unique history.


Miss Margaret Clark


Established in 2006, the Margaret Clark Faculty Excellence Award is given to a former faculty member of longevity whose dedication transcends the classroom and whose high ideals have become part of the student-centered tradition of The Storm King School. The award is named after Miss Margaret Clark, who retired from the School as a distinguished member of the faculty in 1938, after completing 44 years of service as an art teacher. During her tenure, Margaret’s responsibilities grew from a teacher of art to head of the entire Lower School. During World War I, she ran the infirmary as well as the administration, while continuing to teach her legendary art classes. She is also credited with designing The Storm King School Crest that is used today.

This year’s recipient of the Margaret Clark Faculty Excellence Award is Mr. Scott Chrysler, 1989-1997. During his eight-year tenure at SKS, Scott served as an English Teacher, Dean of Students, and varsity lacrosse coach.


2017 SHOF Inductees John Meynardie ’77, Evan Horton ’77, Michael Sloan ’77, Bob Meynardie ’77, and Ned Farman, Coach



Established in 1994, The Storm King School Sports Hall of Fame recognizes exceptional athletic achievement by Storm King Alumni, coaches, athletic directors, and teams. The Alumni Awards Committee accepts nominations for individual athletes, teams, and coaches whose distinguished records, dedication, and commitment to the ideals of The Storm King School Athletic Program exemplify the core values and mission of The Storm King School.

This year’s inductees to the SKS Sports Hall of Fame include Cara Castronuova ’98, Steven Bluth ’83, and William “Bill” D. Perry Jr. ’53.


Dr. Louis P. Ledoux, founder of The Storm King School



The Founder’s Cup is The Storm King School’s highest honor and is awarded to a graduate who has provided distinguished service to The Storm King School community, possesses distinguished professional excellence and/or regional, national, or global distinction. Winners of the Founder’s Cup in previous years include:

2016: Roger Auerbacher ’66
2014: Lawrence “Lon” Gratz ’61
2013: Jack D’Angelo ‘13
2012: Bruce Hanson ’62
2011: Michael Brower ’63
2010: B. DeRacey Gilbert ’60, Joseph W. Blount ’74