Alumni Awards 

The Founder's Cup

The Founder's Cup is awarded to a graduate of The Storm King School who possesses the following attributes: demonstrated loyalty to the School; rendered service to the SKS community; professional excellence; and/or local, national, or global distinction.

Past Recipients of The Founder's Cup Award:

2016: Roger Auerbacher '66
2014: Lawrence “Lon” Gratz ’61
2013: Jack D’Angelo ‘13
2012: Bruce Hanson ’62
2011: Michael Brower ’63
2010: B. DeRacey Gilbert ’60, Joseph W. Blount ’74
2009: Stephen P. Duggan, John Kayton ’26
2008: Herbert G. Gelhardt ’48, Norman S. Jeavons ’48
2006: Harrison M. Davis III ’56
2005: Arthur H. Reis ’75, Robert D. Williams ’54
2003: Michael J. Fischer ’82
2000: John F. Settel ’50

The Margaret Clark Faculty Excellence Award



Miss Margaret Clark retired from The Storm King School as a member of the faculty in 1938, completing 44 years of service as an art teacher. Over the years, Margaret's responsibilities grew, and by 1912, Margaret was in charge of the entire Lower School. During WWI, she ran the infirmary as well as the whole administration while continuing to teach her legendary art classes. In fact, she was the designer of the SKS school crest we use today. This award, established in 2006, is given annually at Reunion to faculty of longevity whose dedication transcends the classroom and whose high ideals have become part of the tradition of the School.

Past Recipients of The Margaret Clark Faculty Excellence Award:

2015: David Van Dyck '40 & Leslie Breton
2014: Bill Carhart
2013: Austin Stern and Karen Hayes Szvoren
2012: Mary Meynardie, Jason Steiker
2011: Diethard Kolewe
2010: Robert Went
2009: Thomas Donahue
2008: Richard G. Broughton '54
2006: Herb and Tommye Sauer

The Sports Hall of Fame Award

The SKS Sports Hall of Fame was created to recognize teams and individuals for their exceptional athletic achievement. Each Reunion Weekend, new members are inducted into the Hall of Fame. Since its inception, the Hall of Fame has enrolled many fine athletes and teams.

Nominate an SKS Athlete, Team or Coach today!








The Storm King School Alumni Association seeks nominations for induction into the SKS Sports Hall of Fame. Nominations are sought for individual athletes, teams or coaches whose distinguished record, dedication and commitment went above expectations and embody the core values and goals and mission of The Storm King School.

Minimum Qualifications to be Eligible:

  • An athlete must have attended SKS for at least two years and graduated or left SKS in good standing at least 10 years prior to nomination.
  • Coaches and Teams are eligible after a minimum of five years since being at SKS.
  • Coaches/Athletic Directors must have led a team or teams at SKS for a minimum of four years and contributed significantly to the SKS athletic program and to the school.

Nominations are reviewed annually and inductees will be recommended by the Sports Hall of Fame Committee and the Alumni Association.

Inductions are held each year at Reunion Weekend.  Inductees must be able to attend the induction ceremony. In the case of a posthumous nomination, attendance by family or friends is necessary.

The next Reunion Weekend for the honor years ending in “2” and “7” will be held on June 9-11, 2017.

Submissions are encouraged early in the fall. The deadline is December 1, 2016 to be eligible for this upcoming year’s induction.

For a list of past recipients of The Sports Hall of Fame Award, please click here.     

For questions about the nomination process or more information about Alumni Awards at The Storm King School, please contact Lynn Crevling ’72, Director of Leadership Support and Alumni Relations at or 845-458-7517.